The Lagan Valley Regional Day Procedure Centre has become the first facility of its kind in either Northern Ireland or the Republic of Ireland to achieve accreditation from the UK’s Getting It Right First Time (GIRFT) programme, marking what health officials describe as a milestone for elective care reform on the island.
The announcement, confirmed on 21 September 2026, coincides with a visit by Professor Tim Briggs CBE, Chair of the GIRFT Programme and NHS England National Director for Clinical Improvement, who is hosting an outpatient modernisation summit with clinical leaders from all five Health and Social Care Trusts.
What GIRFT accreditation means
GIRFT is a clinically led improvement programme that uses data, evidence and peer review to identify good practice, reduce unwarranted variation and improve patient care. The accreditation scheme, supported by the Royal College of Surgeons and Royal College of Anaesthetists, assesses facilities against five key domains: patient pathways; staff and training; clinical governance and outcomes; utilisation and productivity; and facilities and ringfencing.
For patients, the practical benefit of GIRFT-accredited hubs is that they are separated from emergency services, meaning surgical beds remain free for planned operations and the risk of short-notice cancellations due to emergency admissions is reduced.
Scale of achievement at Lagan Valley
Since opening in October 2020, the Lagan Valley DPC has delivered almost 26,000 procedures for patients across Northern Ireland. The centre operates as a genuine regional service, with surgeons from Belfast, Southern and Northern Trusts working alongside South Eastern colleagues. Specialties covered include:
- General surgery
- Gynaecology
- Urology
- Vascular surgery
- ENT (ear, nose and throat)
- Endoscopy
The centre was fully commissioned in April 2023 following a successful pilot phase, and its accreditation followed submission of a comprehensive evidence portfolio and a face-to-face review by GIRFT assessors in July 2026.
Ministerial and clinical reaction
Health Minister Robbie Butler, who represents the Lagan Valley constituency, welcomed the accreditation during Professor Briggs’ visit:
“This is a tremendous achievement, and I congratulate the entire team at Lagan Valley. As Health Minister, and as someone who knows Lagan Valley and many of the staff, I am particularly pleased to see the team receive this recognition.
“Waiting lists remain much too long, but we must also recognise the progress being made and the thousands of patients who are being seen, diagnosed and treated. Lagan Valley shows what can be achieved when staff are supported to deliver safe, high-quality and efficient elective care.
“We must continue to learn from what works, reduce variation and change how services are delivered so patients receive treatment sooner.”
Professor Briggs, whose programme has accredited 43 surgical hubs across England since March 2023 according to GIRFT, emphasised the broader lessons from Lagan Valley:
“I have spent many years visiting hospitals across the UK and Ireland, meeting clinical teams and seeing first-hand what works well and where services can do better.
“What that experience tells us is that we cannot accept unnecessary variation when we know there are better ways to deliver care. Long waits carry clinical risk. We have a responsibility to patients to reduce that risk, look critically at how services are organised and make changes where the evidence tells us we can do better.
“Lagan Valley demonstrates what can be achieved when elective capacity is protected and teams are collaboratively focused on delivering safe, high-quality and efficient care.”
Regional Clinical Director for Elective Care Professor Mark Taylor added:
“The GIRFT summit brings leaders from across our Trusts together around one shared purpose and that’s doing better for patients.
“We have made significant progress, but waiting lists remain too long. We must maintain momentum and continue to reform how elective care is planned and delivered.
“GIRFT helps us identify what works, understand variation and use evidence to drive improvement. Lagan Valley shows the value of dedicated elective capacity, protecting planned care, making effective use of our theatres and teams and helping patients receive treatment sooner.”
Context: progress amid persistent challenges
The Department of Health points to “sustained progress and a downward trajectory across key waiting time measures,” though official statistics reveal the scale of remaining difficulty. According to NISRA figures from September 2025, 91,645 patients were waiting for inpatient or day case admission, with 41.6% waiting more than 52 weeks. For first outpatient appointments, 542,451 patients were on the list, with 55.6% waiting beyond 52 weeks.
More recent June 2026 statistics show 81,223 patients waiting for inpatient or day case admission—suggesting some improvement, though the Department cautions that figures from the new encompass system are “official statistics in development” and not directly comparable with pre-2024 data.
The Lagan Valley DPC and a second Regional Day Procedure Centre at Omagh Hospital form part of Northern Ireland’s Elective Care Framework, launched in June 2021 with 55 actions to reduce waiting lists and improve capacity. However, a July 2023 progress report acknowledged that funding constraints meant the original five-year targets—no one waiting more than 52 weeks for outpatient or inpatient/day case treatment by March 2026—would not be met.
Questions raised by the announcement
While the GIRFT accreditation is genuinely significant, several questions merit attention:
- What about Omagh? The press release notes that Omagh Hospital also hosts a Regional Day Procedure Centre, but does not state whether it has applied for or achieved GIRFT accreditation. This omission means readers may be left with the impression that Lagan Valley stands alone in meeting these standards.
- What does “first of its kind” specifically mean? The claim that Lagan Valley is the first DPC in Ireland to achieve GIRFT accreditation appears accurate, but clarity is needed on whether this refers specifically to day procedure centres or all healthcare units—particularly as GIRFT has previously conducted reviews and summits in Northern Ireland.
- What concrete outcomes will the GIRFT summit produce? Professor Briggs’ visit is framed as significant, but the press release does not specify expected deliverables from the outpatient modernisation summit beyond general commitments to “reduce variation” and “share learning.”
- How will accreditation translate into expanded capacity? While GIRFT recognition validates current practice, it does not automatically mean additional resources or faster treatment for patients currently on waiting lists.
- What about health inequalities? Research consistently shows that waiting list burdens fall unevenly across society. A 2023 King’s Fund report found that in England, people in the most deprived areas were 2.1 times more likely to wait over a year for elective treatment. The Department’s announcement does not address how the benefits of DPCs are distributed across different communities in Northern Ireland.
Looking ahead
The GIRFT accreditation provides external validation of the elective care centre model that Northern Ireland has pursued since 2020. With Health Minister Robbie Butler newly appointed in August 2026 and facing what he acknowledges is “no quick fix,” the challenge now is to spread effective practice more widely while addressing the fundamental gap between demand and capacity that has plagued the health service for over a decade.
The Elective Care Framework remains the guiding policy, but its original targets have already been missed. Whether GIRFT’s evidence-based approach can help accelerate progress—particularly for outpatient services, where waiting lists remain most severe—will depend on whether the summit produces concrete operational changes rather than further process.