Infrastructure Minister Liz Kimmins has announced a £308,000 carriageway resurfacing scheme on the B160 Tanderagee Road in Pomeroy, with work set to begin on Friday 2 October 2026. The 1.5 kilometre stretch from Slate Quarry Road to Thornhill Road will be fully closed to through traffic during the works, with signed diversion routes in place for approximately four weeks.
The announcement comes seven months after a similar £290,000 resurfacing scheme on the nearby B43 Pomeroy Road in Donaghmore, which was completed in April 2026. Both projects fall within the same rural Mid Ulster area and share comparable budgets and scopes, raising questions about whether this represents a coordinated programme of works or coincidental timing.
What the scheme involves
The Department for Infrastructure has confirmed the following details:
- Cost: £308,000
- Length: Approximately 1.5 km
- Location: B160 Tanderagee Road, from Slate Quarry Road to Thornhill Road
- Start date: Friday 2 October 2026
- Expected completion: Saturday 31 October 2026 (weather permitting)
- Road closure: Between B43 Pomeroy Road and C637 Thornhill Road
The works will require a full road closure, with two separate diversion routes signposted for traffic:
For traffic leaving Pomeroy: B43 Pomeroy Road → B43 Main Street Donaghmore → C636 Tullycullion Road → A29 Cookstown Road, with an alternative via B4 Edendoit Road for Cookstown-bound traffic.
For traffic travelling to Pomeroy: C623 Oughterard Road → C623 Sessiagh Scott Road → B4 Edendoit Road.
Minister’s statement
Infrastructure Minister Liz Kimmins said:
“This is a substantial investment for the Pomeroy area which will deliver significant benefits for residents and road users. The investment demonstrates my commitment to investing in and improving our road network, which is vital for connecting our businesses and communities. I would like to thank residents, local businesses and commuters for their patience while this essential infrastructure work is carried out.”
Context and comparisons
The £308,000 budget for 1.5 km of resurfacing works out at approximately £205,000 per kilometre. This sits within typical ranges for carriageway resurfacing, though industry estimates vary considerably based on road condition, required substructure work, and material specifications.
The announcement follows a pattern of similar-sized rural road schemes announced by Minister Kimmins throughout 2026. In March, the same Minister announced £290,000 for 1.5 km of resurfacing on the B43 Pomeroy Road in Donaghmore—just a few miles from this latest scheme. That project also featured 1.5 km of full-width resurfacing with substructure patching, closed the road for five weeks between 8am and 6pm daily, and used a comparable diversion route.
The Department’s road network statistics for 2024-25 show that structural maintenance accounted for 29.2% of total road expenditure (£136 million out of £466 million), with over £107 million spent on capital works. Unclassified roads and C roads together make up nearly 80% of Northern Ireland’s 25,970 km road network, yet historically have received proportionally less investment than A roads and motorways.
Questions raised
Several aspects of the announcement warrant closer examination:
- Why now? The press release does not specify what triggered this particular scheme—whether it responds to specific safety concerns, scheduled maintenance based on road condition surveys, or political prioritisation.
- Diversion practicality: The diversion routes involve multiple minor roads (C-class roads) that may not be suitable for heavy vehicles or high traffic volumes. The Department has not indicated whether weight restrictions or advance warnings will be implemented.
- Weather contingency: With completion “subject to favourable weather conditions” and the works scheduled through October—traditionally one of Northern Ireland’s wettest months—delays appear likely. The Department says it will “keep the public informed of any change” but has not specified how advance notice will be provided.
- Local access: While the Department states that “steps have been taken to accommodate local access throughout the scheme,” it has not clarified what this means for residents living within the closed section or how emergency vehicle access will be maintained.
What to watch for
Road users can monitor progress and any changes to timings through TrafficwatchNI, the Department’s traffic information service. The scheme’s completion by 31 October 2026 will depend heavily on weather conditions, and the Department’s track record suggests extensions are common.
Given the proximity to the earlier Donaghmore scheme, residents and businesses in the wider Pomeroy area may wish to query whether further resurfacing works are planned for connected routes—potentially reducing the need for repeated diversions over a concentrated period.
The announcement does not specify which contractor has been awarded the work or whether local employment will feature in the delivery, details that some communities increasingly expect from public infrastructure announcements.